Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin - Department of Social Sciences


Euromasters welcomes applicants from all over the world. The minimum entrance requirements are: a good Honours degree, or equivalent, in an appropriate subject, such as European studies, politics, history, economics or sociology. Students are expected to be fluent or near-fluent in English, and will need to provide evidence of this.

Please note: Core courses in Berlin are taught in German. Electives are chosen from the regular course catalogue and will therefore be held in German or English. Students are expected to speak German at a level of B1.2 and/ or complete the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin online German test with at least 60 points.

Application Process

All applications to the Euromasters programme are processed by the University of Bath. The exact and valid application conditions are available on the official website of Euromasters and on the website of the University of Bath.

Although there is no official application deadline, students are encouraged to apply as soon as they are able to to allow the full choice of sites. If applicants require a VISA, an appplication before June is recommended, so there is sufficient time to process this. To apply for a scholarship, the application must be received by the 31st May.

Please use the University of Bath online application system to apply for admission to the Euromasters program:

Please note: There is a limited number of highly competitive places for the "Euromasters with TransAtlantic Track" program, here students have the opportunity to study Specialist Module 1 at the University of North Carolina in Chapel Hill. As these places are filled very quickly, we recommend applying before December. However we do operate a waiting list in case places become available. It is possible to have an offer for both the main Euromasters program, and the Transatlantic Track program.

Recommended submission for the application

  • May 30 for overseas students (as students may need to apply for a Tier 4 visa).
  • July 30 for EU students