Appendix

Table 1: USA: List of Countries for which the Visa Requirement has been lifted

Country		Visa-free Travel
	Since	Legal Foundation
Federated States of Micronesia	1986	Compact of Free Association
Republic of Marshall Islands	1986	Compact of Free Association
Republic of Palau	1994	Compact of Free Association
Canada	No information*	Customary Law

Country		Visa Waiver Programme		
	Since	Year of Exclusion		
Japan	1988			
United Kingdom	1988			
France	1989			
Germany	1989			
Italy	1989			
Netherlands	1989			
Sweden	1989			
Switzerland	1989			
Andorra	1991			
Austria	1991			
Belgium	1991			
Denmark	1991			
Finland	1991			
Iceland	1991			
Liechtenstein	1991			
Luxembourg	1991			
Monaco	1991			
New Zealand	1991			
Norway	1991			
San Marino	1991			
Spain	1991			
Brunei	1993			
Ireland	1995			
Argentina	1996	2002		
Australia	1996			
Slovenia	1997			
Uruguay	1998	2003		
Portugal	1999			
Singapur	1999			
Czech Republic	2008			
Estland	2008			
Hungary	2008			
Latvia	2008			

Lithuania	2008	
Malta	2008	
Slovak Republic	2008	
South Korea	2008	

^{*} Canadian citizens have never needed a visa to gain access to the USA

Table 2: Austria: List of Countries for which the Visa Requirement has been lifted

Austria

Country	Austria Waiving the Visa Requirement				
Country	Year of Conclusion of Bilateral Agreement	Year of Suspension by Austria	Year of Suspension because of Schengen or EU Regulations	Year of Visa Waiver because of EU Regulations	
Liechtenstein	1950		Trogulations .		
Switzerland	1950				
Belgium*	1951				
Luxembourg*	1951				
Netherlands	1951				
Greece*	1953				
Chile	1954				
Denmark	1954				
Finland	1954				
Monaco	1954				
Sweden	1954				
Turkey	1954	1990			
Norway	1955				
Portugal*	1955				
Australia	1956				
Canada	1956				
Andorra	1957				
France	1957				
Japan**	1958				
Mexico	1958				
New Zealand	1958				
Argentina	1960				
Bolivia	1960		2007		
El Salvador	1960				
Uruguay	1961				
Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia***	1965	1992 suspension with Serbia and Montenegro			
Tunisia	1965		1994		
Brazil	1967				
Bulgaria	1967	1989		2001	
Malta	1967				
Costa Rica	1968				
Dominican Republic	1968		1994		
Ecuador	1968		2003		
United Kingdom**	1968				
Israel	1968				
Cyprus	1968				
West-Germany	1969				
Paraguay	1969				

Romania	1969	1990		2002
Jamaica	1970		2001	
Ireland	1971			
Italy	1972			
Poland	1972	1990		2001
San Marino	1972			
Barbados	1973		1997	2009
Trinidad and Tobago	1976		1998	
Guatemala	1977			
Philippines*	1978	1981		
Spain	1978			
South Korea	1979			
Hungary	1979			
Panama	1981			
Bahamas	1982		1998	2009
Malaysia	1983			
Singapore	1983			
Seychelles	1984		1997	2009
German Democratic Republic	1990			
Czechoslovakia****	1990			
Bosnia-Herzegovina			1995	
Macedonia			1995	
Hong Kong	1993			
Iceland	1993			
Slovenia	1993			
Venezuela	1993			
United States of America	1993			
Croatia	1995			
Vatican City	1997			
Estonia	1999			
Latvia	1999			
Lithuania	1999			
Brunei				2001
Honduras				2001
Macau				2001
Nicaragua				2001
Antigua and Barbuda				2009
Mauritius				2009
St. Kitts and Nevis				2009
Serbia and Montenegro				2009
Macedonia				2009

- Initially, only a visa waiver agreement for a duration of stay up till 2 months, later on extended for all countries except Philippines for a 3 month duration of stay (Belgium: 1995, Luxembourg: 1975, Greece: 1978, Portugal: 1981)
 - ** This visa waiver agreement allows for stays up until 6 months for holder of normal passports.

 *** The visa waiver agreement with the Socialistic Federative Republic of Yugoslavia was suspended with Serbia and Montenegro in 1992 but firstly continued with Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia Herzegovina and Macedonia. In 1993 and 1995 respectively, the Austrian government concluded individual agreements with Slovenia and Croatia while it pragmatically continued the 1965 agreement with Bosnia-Herzegovina and Macedonia. However, it stopped this pragmatic approach in 1995 and refrained from concluding new individual agreements with both countries.

 **** The visa waiver agreement with Czechoslovakia was never suspended, not even after the dissolution of the country into the Czech Republic and Slovak Republic. Rather, in 1998 (Slovak Republic) and 1999 (Czech Republic) respectively, the original agreement with Czechoslovakia was adjusted to the new circumstances.
- Countries in italics signed provisional agreements with the EU waiving the visa requirement on 6 April 2009 that have been in force since 28 May 2009, pending completion of the procedures for their formal conclusion (see EU 539/2001 with modifications of 2007 and see EU documents 7514/09; 7522/09; 7518/09; 7520/09; 7528/09; 7526/0).
- Since 19 December 2009, citizens of countries in superscript if in possession of a biometrical passport have been allowed to enter Schengen countries without a visa.

Table 3: Finland: List of Countries for which the Visa Requirement has been lifted

Finland

	Finland			
Country	Waiving the Visa Requirement			
	Year of	Year of	Year of	Year of Visa
	Conclusion of	Suspension by	Suspension	Waiver because
	Bilateral	Finland	because of	of EU
	Agreement		Schengen or EU	Regulations
			Regulations	
Luxembourg	1950			
Belgium	1950			
Switzerland	1952			
Liechtenstein	1952			
Denmark	1952			
Netherlands	1952			
Norway	1952			
Sweden	1952			
Iceland	1952			
Austria	1954			
Greece	1954			
Italy	1954			
France	1954			
Monaco	1954			
West-Germany	1954			
San Marino	1954			
Ireland	1955			
Canada	1958			
Japan	1958			
United States of America	1958			
Spain Spain	1959			
Malaysia	1960			
Uruguay	1960			
UK	1961			
Argentina	1961			
Australia	1961			
Chile	1961			
Cyprus	1962			
Portugal	1963			
Mexico	1964			
	1964		2002	
Ecuador			2003	
Malta	1965			
Israel	1966		1007	
Niger Learn Coast	1966		1995	
Ivory Coast	1967		1995	
Malawi	1967	1000	2001	2004
Bulgaria	1967	1989		2001
Singapore	1967	1000		2002
Romania	1968	1990	105-	2002
Mauritius	1968		1995	2009
Uganda	1968		1995	
Barbados	1968		2001	2009
Brasil	1969			
Hungary	1969			
Jamaica	1969		2001	
Swaziland	1969		2001	
Tansania	1970		1995	
Lesotho	1970		2001	

Costa Rica	1971		
El Salvador	1971		
Botswana	1972	2001	
Poland	1973		
New Zealand	1973		
South Korea	1974		
Czechoslovakia	1975		
Guatemala	1975		
Bahamas	1975	2001	2009
Grenada	1976	2001	
Panama	1977		
Honduras	1978		
Seychellen	1978	2001	2009
Andorra	1981		
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines	1981	2001	
Kenya	1982	2001	
Vatikan City	1983		
Bolivia	1985	2007	
Sambia	1986	1995	
Nicaragua	1987		
Dominican Republic	1989	1995	
Belize	1989	2001	
Namibia	1991	2001	
Paraguay	1991		
Croatia	1992		2001
Slovenia	1992		
Thailand	1993	1995	
Latvia	1997		
Estonia	1997		
Lithuania	1997		
Eritrea	No information	1995	
Brunei			2001
Hong Kong			2001
Macao			2001
Venezuela	No information		2001
Antigua and Barbuda			2009
St. Kitts and Nevis			2009
Serbien-Montenegro			2009
Mazedonien			2009
1		 	

- We could not find out whether Brunei, the German Democratic Republic or the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia, Venezuela, Hong Kong and Macau had bilateral visa waiver agreements with Finland.
- *We do not have any information as to what happened to the visa waiver agreement with Czechoslovakia after the country's dissolution. We assume that it was continued pragmatically because of both countries' accession to the European Union was predictable.
- Countries in italics signed provisional agreements with the EU waiving the visa requirement on 6 April 2009 that have been in force since 28 May 2009, pending completion of the procedures for their formal conclusion (see EU 539/2001 with modifications of 2007 and see EU documents 7514/09; 7522/09; 7518/09; 7520/09; 7528/09; 7526/0).
- Since 19 December 2009, citizens of countries in superscript if in possession of a biometrical passport have been allowed to enter Schengen countries without a visa.