Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin - Department of Social Sciences

Erasmus+ throughout Europe


Erasmus+ is a programme from the European Union for international cooperation in various educational contexts. Erasmus+ makes it possible for students to complete study abroad at a European partner university.


Benefits for students:

  • Study abroad for 3-9 months (between the 01.07 and the 30.09 of the following year) at a partner university of the home university in an EU member state or Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway or Turkey
  • Exemption from student fees at the guest institution
  • Academic recognition for the courses completed abroad
  • Payment of a mobility grant of currently 540-600 Euro per month depending on the host country
  • For students with a disability further limited grants are available to cover additional costs accrued by studying abroad
  • Additional grants for accompanying children
  • Support in preparing for the study abroad linguistically and logistically and, normally, support from the host university regarding accommodation, cultural activities etc.


Partner Universities

The Department of Social Sciences has developed a wide range of partnerships throughout Europe. The programme Erasmus+ throughout Europe offers the unique opportunity to get to know the everyday life at a university in a different country, along with a different society and language.

Students can find out more about the possibilities of a course of study abroad at the ISW here.


The table of study abroad places can be found here!